Hicksville Water District Holds Awards Ceremony for 2024 Water Conservation Poster Contest Winners

July 8, 2024

Ceremony Celebrates Students’ Passion for Water Conservation

The Hicksville Water District (HWD) recently held an awards ceremony to celebrate the 29 winners of the District’s 2024 Water Conservation Poster Contest. An annual tradition in the District, the poster contest helps Hicksville’s elementary school students to learn about the importance of water conservation, as well as the necessity of protecting our sole-source aquifer. Water is our most precious natural resource, and this contest allows students to express their own creativity as well as inspiring them to begin conserving water ahead of the very usage-heavy summer irrigation season.

“Our Water Conservation Poster Contest is always a highlight of our year,” said HWD Chairman Karl Schweitzer. “To see such enthusiasm for participating in this event year after year is encouraging for us, as it demonstrates that our community’s young people are developing a passion for protecting their environment at a young age. The work turned in by our students this year was fantastic, and it instills further confidence within us that our water will be protected for future generations.”

The winners of the 2024 poster contest are as follows:

  • Kindergarten
    • Angela Sangar- East Street Elementary School
    • Elani Guzman- Dutch Lane Elementary School
    • Humna Khan- East Street Elementary School
    • Emma Maldonado- East Street Elementary School
  • Grade 1
    • Alvin Jiang- Dutch Lane Elementary School
    • Viaan Asija- Dutch Lane Elementary School
    • Briana Noah Aliva Hernandez- Dutch Lane Elementary School
    • Ella Wasiq- Dutch Lane Elementary School
  • Grade 2
    • Scarlet Torres- Dutch Lane Elementary School
    • Josmaily Tavarez Gutierrez- Old Country Road Elementary School
    • Avleen Kaur- Dutch Lane Elementary School
    • Kavya Patel- Old Country Road Elementary School
    • Hana Chan- Old Country Road Elementary School
    • Daniel Delieto- Dutch Lane Elementary School
  • Grade 3
    • Thomas Demuth- Dutch Lane Elementary School
    • Nicole Montoya-Rivera- East Street Elementary School
    • Sofia Himmelman- East Street Elementary School
    • Samreet Kaur- Burns Ave Elementary School
    • Amira Mansuri- Lee Ave Elementary School
  • Grade 4
    • Yumi Chu- Burns Ave Elementary School
    • Sukhbani Sogi- East Street Elementary School
    • Keylin Julissa Perez-Hernandez- Burns Ave Elementary School
    • Amisha Parhar- Burns Ave Elementary School
    • Aarib Zaidi- Burns Ave Elementary School
  • Grade 5
    • Farangiz Mukhamedova- Burns Ave Elementary School
    • Ashmeet Bariana- Burns Ave Elementary School
    • Radhika Prajapati- Burns Ave Elementary School
    • Manha Barak- Old Country Road Elementary School
    • Angad Singh- Lee Ave Elementary School

The winners are determined after deliberation from the Board of Commissioners on creativity, design and overall message of water conservation.

Photo Caption: Hicksville Water District Chairman Karl Schweitzer, back, second from left; was joined by fellow Commissioners Nicholas Brigandi, back, far left; and William Schuckmann, back, center; as well as HWD Clerk Jennifer Sbrocco and Treasurer Vincent Abbatiello in celebrating the winners of the 2024 Water Conservation Poster Contest during the recent awards ceremony.